2018 Team Awards Announced

2018 Team Awards Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2018 Team Awards for outstanding achievements during the IFL regular season.

Franchise of the Year: Arizona Rattlers

For the second consecutive season, the Arizona Rattlers have been named the IFL Franchise of the Year. Selected by their peers, factors considered for achieving this award consisted of attendance, sales, public relations, marketing, on-field performance, community involvement and overall representation of the IFL.

"This honor is a tribute to the hard work and dedication of our players and coaches, front office staff, support staff and of course our incredible fans who continue to support our team," said Rattlers owner Ron Shurts. "It's our mission to support our city, provide a great experience to our fans and help grow the sport of indoor football in Phoenix.  A huge thank you to our partners, fans and all of our supporters.  This isn't possible without them!" 

After winning the United Bowl last season, the Rattlers organization built on their success in 2018.On the field, Arizona tied for the best record in the IFL (11-3) and again advanced to the playoffs. Additionally, the organization set a new IFL and new team single game attendance record this season of 18,381 fans.

Executive of the Year: Ryan Hopson (Director of Sales) – Green Bay Blizzard)

Green Bay Blizzard Director of Sales Ryan Hopson has been named the 2018 IFL Executive of the Year.

"I am honored to receive this recognition from the IFL," said Hopson."To even be considered in this category with other executives in the league from whom I have learned so much, is humbling. This award would not be possible without the unwavering support of Blizzard owners Larry and Kathy Treankler, my family, our front office and intern staff, sponsors and fans!  

Hopson guided the Green Bay Blizzard to team attendance records in 2018. Despite a 2-12 season , the Blizzard had the highest average attendance since the team joined the IFL in 2010. In addition, Hopson also oversaw a 33 percent increase in sponsorship from 2017 to 2018.

Best Fan Base: Arizona Rattlers

For a second consecutive season, the Arizona Rattlers have the IFL's Best Fan Base. The award is given to the team with the fans that show the most enthusiasm, energy, and overall appreciation for their team. Fans at the "Snake Pit" showed up in record numbers this season as the team set not only a new IFL new single game attendance record of 18,381 but a new team record as well!

Best Game Operations: Sioux Falls Storm

The Sioux Falls Storm have been awarded Best Game Day Operations. The Storm pride themselves in putting on a great show for their home fans, constantly creating the most interactive and innovative on-field promotions. Additionally, the team's game-day presentations, unique half-time shows, giveaways, mascots and music help make the Denny Sanford Premier Center one of the most entertaining venues in the IFL.

Best Cheerleader/Dance Team: Sioux Falls Storm

The Sioux Falls Storm have earned the Best Cheerleader/Dance Team award in 2018. The "Lightning Girls" continue to establish themselves as one of the preeminent dance teams in all of indoor football. The award is based on talent, attractiveness, uniforms and crowd interaction.

Community Relations Award: Green Bay Blizzard

The Community Relations award is presented to the team that best exemplifies outstanding service to their community. The Green Bay Blizzard continue to distinguish themselves as leaders in the Green Bay community with their support of programs such as Feed My Starving Children, Colton's Cure, American Legion Post 11, Eye Heart World, Special Olympics Wisconsin and Fox Valley Autism Society.

Hospitality Award: Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers have earned the Hospitality Award in 2018. The hospitality award is given to the team that provided the best overall experience for the visiting team while on the road. The Rattlers earned the award as the team was judged to have the best host hotel, pre- and post-game meals and other accommodations that exceeded expectations.

Best Website/Social Media: Nebraska Danger

The Nebraska Danger have been awarded Best Website/Social Media in 2018. The Danger earn the award based on a variety of factors such as aesthetics, ease of use, up-to-date information, content and fan interaction.

Best Mascot: Nebraska Danger

The Best Mascot of the 2018 season goes to the Nebraska Danger. Bones was named the most creative, energetic and talented mascot in the IFL.

Best Media Relations: Iowa Barnstormers

The Iowa Barnstormers have been awarded Best Media Relations. The Barnstormers earned the designation based on their media involvement, press releases, game notes, articles, media guides and overall content.

The 2018 United Bowl Championship kicks off on Saturday, July 7 at 7:05 PM at the Wells Fargo Arena between the Sioux Falls Storm and the Iowa Barnstormers. The 2018 United Bowl can be viewed live on the IFL's YouTube channel!