IFL Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

IFL Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is pleased to announce the Hall of Fame Class of 2017. After a thorough voting process, which included input from IFL teams, coaches, fans, and current Hall of Fame members, the Indoor Football League honors and recognizes the achievements of Robert Fuller, Cory Johnsen, and James Terry. 

James Terry (WR, Sioux Falls Storm)

Terry was a standout contributor at Kansas State University, earning AP Honorable Mention All-American and helping the Wildcats secure a spot in the 2004 Fiesta Bowl.  He began his professional career with brief stints with the San Diego Chargers of the NFL and Calgary Stampeders of the CFL before finding a home with the Storm in 2006.  One of the most dynamic offensive players in IFL history, Terry spent ten seasons in Sioux Falls.  He is an eight-time United Bowl Champion (2006-2008 UIF, 2011-2015 IFL) and a three-time All-League Selection.  He ranks 1st in Storm history in receptions, receiving yards, and receiving touchdowns.  He ranks 1st in IFL history in career receptions (452) and all-purpose yards (6,472) and 4th in receiving yards (4,645).  Terry's biggest impact came when it mattered most; the postseason.  He holds IFL postseason records in career receptions (83), yards (937), and touchdowns (21).  He was named Co-MVP of the 2014 United Bowl.

In 2014 Terry started "Touchdowns for Ty", a campaign to raise awareness of child abuse and raise funds for victims at the Children's Home Society in Sioux Falls.  James resides in Sioux Falls with his family.  He is still a very active member in and around the surrounding community.

Robert Fuller (Head Coach, Omaha Beef/Fairbanks Grizzlies/Green Bay Blizzard/Bemidji Axemen)

Robert Fuller is the first coach to be selected for the IFL Hall of Fame.  Highly regarded both on and off the field, Fuller gained the reputation as one of the most respected coaches in IFL history.  His tenure in the IFL included coaching duties with the Omaha Beef, Fairbanks Grizzlies, Green Bay Blizzard, and Bemidji Axemen.  In IFL play, Fuller's teams accumulate a combined 27-21 record during the regular season (1-2 in postseason play).  In consecutive seasons, 2011 with Fairbanks and 2012 with Green Bay, Fuller was named IFL Coach of the Year and received the league's Adam Pringle Award (equivalent to the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year Award).  He is only individual to receive these awards more than once.  Fuller's most successful season came in 2012 with the Blizzard.  He guided the team to an 11-3 regular season record and an appearance in the United Conference Championship Game.  That season, Fuller coached fellow Hall of Famer RB LaRon Council to the most prolific rushing season in IFL history.  Council set IFL single season records in rushing attempts (256), rushing yards (1,040), and rushing touchdowns (32).  IFL Hall of Famer B.J. Hill was also a member of the 2012 Blizzard team.

Robert currently resides in Bismarck, ND.  The University of Mary grad works for Bismarck Public Schools. 

Cory Johnsen (DL, Sioux Falls Storm) 

An All-Conference performer at St. Cloud State University, Johnsen began his indoor football career with the Sioux Falls Storm in 2006.  He would spend the next ten seasons anchoring the defensive line of vaunted "Thunder Defense".  Johnsen was a three-time All-League Selection (2008, 2009, 2015) and was a member of eight United Bowl Championship teams (2006-2008 UIF, 2011-2015 IFL).  He is the Storm's career leader with 64.5 sacks.  He ranks 5th all-time in IFL history with 29 sacks.  In 2008, Johnsen founded "Sacks for Cash", a charitable foundation that uses the Storm platform to raise money for local non-profit and charitable organizations in the Sioux Falls community.   

Cory, his wife Nikki, and daughter Marley Mae still call Sioux Falls home.  He currently serves as an Assistant Coach for the Storm and is the Sale and Marketing Manager for the Sioux Falls Shopping News.

The three-member IFL Hall of Fame Class of 2017 will be present during festivities at the United Bowl weekend (July 7th-9th).  They will be honored at the League's Awards Banquet as well as during ceremonies of the United Bowl.

IFL Commissioner Mike Allshouse added, "With so many extremely qualified candidates, this was an exceptional year for the IFL Hall of Fame.  The character traits and outstanding skills that Robert, Cory, and James possess epitomize what you look for when honoring members of the Hall of Fame.  Congratulations to each of them, their families, and their respective teams for this great distinction.  Their contributions to the IFL will forever be memorialized as the Hall of Fame Class of 2017."    

The IFL is entering the final weeks of the 2017 regular season.  All remaining games, and the IFL postseason can be viewed exclusively on the IFL's official YouTube page.