Coach & Special Teams Player of the Year Announced

Coach & Special Teams Player of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2016 Coach of the Year and Special Teams Player of the Year. 

Coach of the Year: Billy Back (Wichita Falls Nighthawks)

Wichita Falls Nighthawks Head Coach Billy Back has been named the 2016 IFL Coach of the Year.

Coming off of a disappointing 5-9 inaugural season, the Nighthawks made a coaching change and signed Back, four-time championship winning head coach. Under Back's supervision the Nighthawks finished the season 11-5, made their first playoff berth and sported the top offense in the IFL.

On offensive guru, Back spearheaded a dynamic offense that led the IFL in the following offensive categories: points per game (62.6), yards per game (298.6) and passing yards per game (226.3). The Nighthawks ranked second in the IFL in rushing touchdowns (53) and red zone conversion (75%). In addition the Nighthawks scored 1,001 points in 2016, becoming just the second team in IFL history to top 1,000 points scored on the season.

Under Back's tutelage, the Nighthawks had five players named to the All-IFL teams in 2016 including QB Charles McCullum, WR Jordan Jolly, K Rockne Belmonte, RB Tyler Williams and DL Walter Thomas.

Special Teams Player of the Year: Korey Williams (WR/RB, Sioux Falls Storm)

Sioux Falls Storm WR/RB Korey Williams is the 2016 IFL Special Teams Player of the Year. Returning to the Storm after spending several seasons in the CFL, Williams immediately added his explosive speed to the Storm's special teams unit, making it one of the most dangerous in the IFL.

Williams (5'11,185, Northwestern Oklahoma St.) made his mark quickly for the Storm having a kickoff return for a touchdown in his first game in 2016. Williams would then follow that with five more kickoff return touchdowns during the season. Williams' six total return touchdowns led the IFL and is the most by any IFL player since 2009, the league's inaugural season. 

Williams finished the season among the league leaders with 49 kick returns for 1,000 yards.  The explosive kick returner also added to the dynamic Sioux Falls offense as he pulled in 52 receptions for 571 yards and 10 touchdowns. In addition, he added 350 rushing yards and 18 rushing touchdowns. In total, Williams accounted for 34 touchdowns and 1,921 all-purpose yards during 2016. 

At the conclusion of the regular season, Williams was named First Team All-IFL Kick Returner.

 The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the

following schedule.

Monday, July 18 – Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year

Tuesday, July 19 – MVP 

The 2016 IFL playoffs continue this weekend as the Sioux Falls Storm host the Cedar Rapids Titans in the United Conference Championship on Saturday, July 16. The Spokane Empire will host the Intense Conference Championship as they welcome the Nebraska Danger on Sunday, July 17. The winner of each game will represent their conference in the 2016 United Bowl. All IFL playoff games can be seen live on!