Rookies of the Year Announced

Rookies of the Year Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the 2016 Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Trevor Kennedy (RB, Spokane Empire)

Spokane Empire RB Trevor Kennedy has been named 2016 IFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. Kennedy (6'0,205, Mercyhurst) quickly emerged as one of the most explosive playmakers in the IFL. The Empire running back's combination of rushing prowess, receiving skills, kickoff return yards and a strong knack for finding the endzone had a direct connection to the Empire's 12-4 season and appearance in the Intense Conference Championship.

Despite missing the final three games due to injury, Kennedy finished his rookie campaign leading the IFL in rushing yards (720), rushing touchdowns (27), and total points scored (237). He finished third in the IFL in all-purpose yards with 1613. 

Kennedy was the only running back to rush for four touchdowns in four different games this season. His 27 rushing touchdowns were the most by any player in the IFL since 2012. During the Empire's April 9th game vs the Colorado Crush, Kennedy accounted for seven total touchdowns (four rushing and three receiving) tying for the league lead for most single game touchdowns.

At the conclusion of the regular season, Kennedy was named First Team All-IFL Running Back.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Jabari Gorman (DB, Nebraska Danger) 

Nebraska Danger DB Jabari Gorman has been named 2016 IFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. Gorman (6'0.195, Florida) emerged as one of the most physical and ball-hawking defensive backs in the league. 

Gorman concluded his rookie campaign with 125 tackles, seven tackles for loss, seven interceptions and seven pass breakups. His 125 tackles ranked third in the IFL while his seven interceptions tied him for second.

The Nebraska defensive back posted double-digit tackles in seven games during the season and accounted for a team-high 16 tackles in the Danger's early season 48-37 victory over the Green Bay Blizzard.

Gorman was named as a First Team All-IFL Defensive Back at the conclusion of the season.

The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the following schedule. 

Friday, July 15 – Special Teams Player of the Year and Coach of the Year

Monday, July 18 – Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year

Tuesday, July 19 – MVP

The 2016 IFL playoffs continue this weekend as the Sioux Falls Storm host the Cedar Rapids Titans in the United Conference Championship on Saturday, July 16. The Spokane Empire will host the Intense Conference Championship as they welcome the Nebraska Danger on Sunday, July 17. The winner of each game will represent their conference in the 2016 United Bowl. All IFL playoff games can be seen live on!