Most Improved Player & Adam Pringle Awards Announced

Most Improved Player & Adam Pringle Awards Announced

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the Most Improved Player and Adam Pringle Awards for the 2016 season.

Most Improved Award: Markeith Summers (WR, Green Bay Blizzard)

Green Bay Blizzard WR Markeith Summers has been named the Most Improved Player of the 2016 season. A three-year IFL veteran, Summers became the go-to playmaker for the Blizzard this season as he led the IFL in touchdown receptions with 26.

Summers started his IFL career in 2014 with Blizzard amassing just 182 yards and two touchdowns in his rookie campaign. In 2015, Summers finished second on the team with 501 receiving yards and tied for the team lead with 10 touchdown receptions.

In 2016, Summers continued his growth and set numerous franchise records as he totaled 913 receiving yards and totaled an IFL league-best 26 touchdown receptions. Summers scored receiving touchdowns in each of his last nine games and scored multiple receiving touchdowns in seven of them. At the end of the season, Summers was named as a 2016 Second Team All-IFL Wide Receiver.

Adam Pringle Award: Peter Evans (OL, Iowa Barnstormers) 

Iowa Barnstormers OL Peter Evans is the recipient of the 2016 Adam Pringle Award. The award, named after a very influential and highly respected member of the former West Michigan Thunderhawks, is given to the player or coach who exemplified outstanding service and dedication to their surrounding community.

Evans served as an ambassador for the Barnstormers "We've Got Your Back Anti-Bullying Program" where he shared his experiences with bullying and encouraged young students to be inclusive and put an end to bullying.

In addition, Evan volunteered at every community event for the Barnstormers this season seeking out community engagement with organizations such as Passageway, an organization that assists with mental illness and the Children's Cancer Connection. He helped support and fundraise for foundations such as Scleroderma Foundation, the Food Bank of Iowa and various charity walks throughout the season. 

The remaining IFL Individual Awards will be released according to the following schedule.

Thursday, July 14 – Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year

Friday, July 15 – Special Teams Player of the Year and Coach of the Year

Monday, July 18 – Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year

Tuesday, July 19 – MVP

The 2016 IFL playoffs continue this weekend as the Sioux Falls Storm host the Cedar Rapids Titans in the United Conference Championship on Saturday, July 16. The Spokane Empire will host the Intense Conference Championship as they welcome the Nebraska Danger on Sunday, July 17. The winner of each game will represent their conference in the 2016 United Bowl. All IFL playoff games can be seen live on!