Billy Back, Wichita Falls Nighthawks, Coach of the Year

Billy Back, Wichita Falls Nighthawks, Coach of the Year

Coach of the Year: Billy Back (Wichita Falls Nighthawks)

Wichita Falls Nighthawks Head Coach Billy Back has been named the 2016 IFL Coach of the Year.

Coming off of a disappointing 5-9 inaugural season, the Nighthawks made a coaching change and signed Back, four-time championship winning head coach. Under Back's supervision the Nighthawks finished the season 11-5, made their first playoff berth and sported the top offense in the IFL.

On offensive guru, Back spearheaded a dynamic offense that led the IFL in the following offensive categories: points per game (62.6), yards per game (298.6) and passing yards per game (226.3). The Nighthawks ranked second in the IFL in rushing touchdowns (53) and red zone conversion (75%). In addition the Nighthawks scored 1,001 points in 2016, becoming just the second team in IFL history to top 1,000 points scored on the season.

Under Back's tutelage, the Nighthawks had five players named to the All-IFL teams in 2016 including QB Charles McCullum, WR Jordan Jolly, K Rockne Belmonte, RB Tyler Williams and DL Walter Thomas.